Participant Selection Process

The highest-ranked conference champion by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee from the American Athletic, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West or Sun Belt will play annually in one of the College Football Playoff bowls (Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic, PlayStation Fiesta Bowl or Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl for the 2017 season) if it is not selected for the Playoff Semifinals.

Conference USA has secured guaranteed commitments with six bowl partners for the 2017 season, as well as one secondary agreement: Bahamas, Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla, Boca Raton, Gildan New Mexico, Lockheed Martin Armed Forces and R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowls are primary agreements. The Walk-On’s Independence Bowl is a secondary agreement, should the ACC or SEC not be able to provide a bowl-eligible team. There is no set selection order among C-USA’s bowl partners.

The MAC has 2017 primary bowl tie-ins with Bahamas, Dollar General, Famous Idaho Potato and Raycom Media Camellia Bowls. The MAC has secondary 2017 bowl agreements with Boca Raton, Frisco and Quick Lane Bowls. The Dollar General Bowl has first selection in 2017, and there is no order of selection for the remaining three primary MAC tie-ins.

The 2017 Bahamas Bowl participants – selected from among bowl-eligible teams in Conference USA and the Mid-American Conference – will be announced by the bowl, ESPN Events and conference partners once finalized.

ESPN Events
© Copyright 2018 ESPN Internet Ventures. Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Safety Information, Your California Privacy Rights and Children's Privacy Policy are applicable to you. All rights reserved. Interest-Based Ads